Miyazaki’s graphic novel will be released in the United States

0

A graphic novel by Oscar-winning filmmaker Hayao Miyazaki is first released in the United States nearly 40 years after it was published in Japan

A graphic novel by Oscar-winning filmmaker Hayao Miyazaki is first released in the United States nearly 40 years after it was published in Japan

A graphic novel by Oscar-winning filmmaker Hayao Miyazaki is first released in the United States, nearly 40 years after it was published in Japan.

Miyazaki’s “Shuna’s Journey,” a 1983 release that contains elements later featured in his films “Princess Mononoke” and “Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind,” will be released Nov. 1 by publisher Macmillan First Second. Alex Dudok de Wit translates the book into English.

“Fans of ‘Princess Mononoke’ and ‘Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind’ – millions of us – will be delighted to find the first hints of these masterpieces in beautiful watercolor pages by Miyazaki’s hand, Mark Siegel, editorial and creative director of First Second, said in a statement Tuesday.

Miyazaki, 81, is considered one of the greatest animators in the world. His other films include “My Neighbor Totoro,” “Kiki’s Delivery Service,” and the 2001 release “Spirited Away,” which won the Academy Award for Best Animated Feature. He was nominated for the Best Animated Feature Oscar for his 2013 film “The Wind Rises.”

Share.

Comments are closed.