51st Kerala State Film Awards: the full list of winners


Kerala Minister for Film Development Corporation and Chalachitra Academy Saji Cheriyan announced the winners of the Kerala State Film Awards 2020 on Saturday. The jury for the 51st edition of the awards was chaired by actor-filmmaker Suhasini Maniratnam.

Despite all the obstacles caused by the pandemic, the competition saw up to 80 films competing for prizes in various categories compared to 119 entries in the last edition.

As expected, director Jeo Baby’s groundbreaking family drama The Great Indian Kitchen has been announced as Best Picture. And Jeo Baby also won the award for Best Screenplay (Original).

The late director KR Sachidanandan a.k.a. Sachy Ayyappanum Koshiyum’s hit film won the award for best film with popular appeal and aesthetic value. Jayasurya won “Best Actor” (Male) for his performance as an alcoholic in the biopic drama Vellam. And Anna Ben won the award for best actor (female) for her performance in Kappela.

Minister Saji Cheriyan noted that the distribution of the awards and prize money will take place in December.

Here is the list of the winners of the 51st Kerala State Film Awards:

Best Film – Jeo Baby’s Great Indian Cuisine

Second best film – Thinkalazhcha Nishchayam by Senna Hegde

Best Image of Popularity and Artistic Value – Ayyappanum Koshyum by KR Sachidanandan

Best Director – Sidhartha Siva for Ennivar

Best Actor – Jayasurya, for Vellam

Best Actress – Anna Ben, for Kappela

Best Character Actor (Male) – Sudheesh, for Ennivar

Best Actor (Woman): Sreerekha for Veyil

Best Child Artist (Male) – Neeranjan S, Kasiminte Kada

Best Children’s Artist (Female) Arravya Sharma

Best Story – Senna Hegde, for Thinkalazhcha Nishchayam

Best Director of Photography – Chandru Selvaraj, for Kayattam

Best Lyricist: Anwar Ali, for Malik, Bhoomiyile Manohara Swakaryam

Best Youth Film: Tony Sukumar’s Bonamy

Best Screenplay (Original) – Jeo Baby

Best First Director – Muhammed Mustafa for Kappela

Best Music Director – M Jayachandran for Sufiyum Sujatayum

Best Male Vocalist – Sabas Samanth, Vellam, Hallal Love Story

Best Singer – Nithya Mamon Suifyi Sukaratham

Best Background Music – M Jayachandran for Sufiyum Sujatayum

Best Editor – Mahesh Narayanan for CU Soon

Best Art Director – Santhosh Raman for Malik, Pyali

Best Sync Sound: Adarsh ​​Jospeh Cheriyan for Santhoshathinte Onnam Rahasyam

Colorist – Biju Prabhakar for Kayattam

Best Choreography: Lalitha Sobi, Babu Xavier for Sufiyum Sujatayum

Best Male Dub Artist: Shobi Thilakan for Bhoomiyile Manohara Swargayajyam

Best Female Dub: Riya Sairra for Ayyappanum Koshiyum

Best Makeup: Rasheed Ahamed Article 21

Best Costume Designer: Dhanya Balakrishnan for Malik

Visual effects: Sariyas Mohammad for love

Special Jury Mentions – Nalini Jameela for costume design in Bharatapuzha, Nanjiamma for singing Kalakkatha in Ayyappanum Koshiyum and actor Siji Pradeep for his acting in Bharathpuzha.


Comments are closed.